The Line Unbroken – C1.1/G4: The Old Forest

Having already gone slightly out of sequence by starting my campaign before Assault on Osgiliath, I’m now taking myself notably further out of sequence by including in that campaign both The Old Forest and (next) Fog on the Barrow Downs. I much prefer to include these two quests in the campaign and thus tell the full story, but it does mean that since I want to maintain the consistency of my progressing card pool I will be tackling them without some of the cards which were available when they were both released (since GenCon 2014 and the Fellowship event that autumn were midway through the Ring-maker cycle). I’m not so concerned on that point for The Old Forest, more so for Fog on the Barrow Downs as that is a considerably more challenging quest.

Which brings me to deckbuilding for the quest. The main thing that helps with The Old Forest is location control – you need to explore a certain number of victory points worth of locations, so location control will obviously speed up that process (though it’s not necessarily totally required, at least with only two players. Four player it’d become more significant I’m sure). So I’m not making too many changes to the decks I used for Shadow of the Past to bring them into this quest – the most notable changes are putting in Thror’s Map so that I can switch out Misleading Paths, and upping the number of Northern Trackers in the second deck to 3. I’ve also put in a couple of copies of Dunedain Cache so Merry can become Ranged as well as Aragorn and have more cross-table attack power. To fit in these changes I unfortunately had to remove Shadow of the Past – I then proceeded to forget I’d done so and comment a couple of times in the youtube playthrough that I’d really like to draw into Shadow of the Past, not realising that it wasn’t in either of my decks. Whoops.

A Conspiracy of Friends

Heroes:
Sam Gamgee
Merry
Pippin (Lo)

Allies (13):
Bill the Pony x2
Snowbourn Scout x3
Farmer Maggot x1
Barliman Butterbur x2
Dori x1
Warden of Healing x2
Gandalf (Core) x2

Attachments (16):
Hobbit Cloak x3
Dagger of Westernesse x3
Rivendell Bow x2
Fast Hitch x3
Protector of Lorien x2
Thror’s Map x3

Events (21):
Sneak Attack x3
Feint x3
Halfling Determination x3
Daeron’s Runes x3
Out of the Wild x3
A Good Harvest x3
Frodo’s Intuition x3

All that is gold does not glitter

Heroes:
Aragorn (Ld)
Balin
Fatty Bolger

Allies (18):
Erestor x2
Faramir x2
Snowbourn Scout x3
Arwen Undomiel x2
Northern Tracker x3
West Road Traveller x3
Gandalf (Core) x3

Attachments (20):
Celebrian’s Stone x3
Sword that was Broken x3
Steward of Gondor x3
King Under the Mountain x3
Dunedain Cache x2
Ancient Mathom x3
Unexpected Courage x3

Events (12):
Campfire Tales x3
Sneak Attack x3
A Test of Will x3
The Galadhrim’s Greeting x3

RingsDB:
http://ringsdb.com/fellowship/view/2031/the-line-unbroken-the-old-forest
http://ringsdb.com/decklist/view/4361/the-line-unbroken-the-old-forest-deck-1-1.0
http://ringsdb.com/decklist/view/4362/the-line-unbroken-the-old-forest-deck-2-1.0

Youtube video: The Old Forest

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to The Line Unbroken – C1.1/G4: The Old Forest

  1. Qwaz says:

    Just watched this video. I like the low threat secrecy approach you’re taking.

    Like

Leave a comment