The Line Unbroken – N10: Nightmare Into the Pit

Coming back to Nightmare again I had a slightly tricky decision about sequence. The thing is, the Nightmare packs for the Hobbit sagas were released as Game Night Kits roughly parallel to the Khazad-Dum and Dwarrowdelf Nightmare packs being released immediately to PoD. So I debated for a bit whether I go in order of when the Nightmares were released or by the order of the initial packs. If the timings didn’t match up as well as they did I might have made a different decision, but the impression I got looking at the timings came down to NM Over Hill and Under Hill having the same card pool as NM Khazad-Dum, and NM On the Doorstep having the same as NM Dwarrowdelf, so it’s close enough that I think it makes sense to just go straight through Khazad-Dum and Dwarrowdelf, then go for the Hobbit quests. Which brings me to Nightmare Into the Pit.

I struggled to really come up with ideas on what decks to build for this quest, since in Nightmare I have no restrictions/guidance based on wanting to slot in a new hero, and the quest doesn’t point me in any particular direction as it’s pretty generic. The big change for the Nightmare version is that the Cave Torch has a limited number of uses before it runs out, but that mostly just encourages me to finish the quest quickly before it becomes an issue.
Besides that, the limitation on the Cave Torch can also encourage bringing a bit more in the way of other location control so you have less need of the Torch, and since things are presumably a bit harder here perhaps we focus a bit more on the difficulties presented by the base quest. Which would mean accounting for the East Gate – quest hard from the off to clear it fast but preferably also be ready for combat immediately afterwards since then the enemies will engage – and getting well established before hitting stage 3 since it stops natural resource collection. The general theme of these thoughts is a desire for a strong start so after a bit of thought this is what I came up with:

Venturing Past the Gate

Heroes:
Balin
Theodred
Beorn

Allies (24):
Erestor x3
Snowbourn Scout x3
Squire of the Citadel x3
Westfold Outrider x3
Vassal of the Windlord x3
Defender of Rammas x3
Envoy of Pelargir x3
Gandalf (Core) x3

Attachments (8):
Steward of Gondor x3
King Under the Mountain x3
Celebrian’s Stone x2

Events (18):
Sneak Attack x3
Campfire Tales x3
We Are Not Idle x3
Feint x3
Hidden Cache x3
Shadow of the Past x3

Thoughts: Beorn is a pretty solid solution to the issue of getting rushed by enemies as soon as the East-gate is cleared. He ensures that it’s OK for me to quest with all my other heroes and I’ll still be able to defend the enemies, possibly even kill some of them. One significant focus in the ally selection is options to take over from Beorn once he’s damaged – chumps and the stronger Defenders of Rammas. Snowbourn Scouts also provide that bit of location control. The other big thing is getting a bit more attack power to make sure I can kill enemies.
The main thing beside that is just focusing on drawing through the deck as quickly and efficiently as possible. Between Erestor, Gandalf, Campfire Tales and We Are Not Idle I should go through it very quickly. Theodred, Steward of Gondor and potentially King Under the Mountain + Hidden Cache ensure I’ll also have plenty of resources – and though it probably won’t be an issue, those are means by which I can continue generating new resources on stage 3 of the quest.
Shadow of the Past is potentially useful in general but is specifically included as a possible means of guaranteeing the Patrol Leader won’t cancel all the damage dealt to him. Could also be used to set up guaranteed safe Cave Torch use if I’m worried.

The Doom of Moria

Heroes:
Eowyn
Grima
Elrond

Allies (29):
West Road Traveller x3
Westfold Horse-breeder x3
Northern Tracker x3
Erebor Record Keeper x3
Gleowine x3
Henamarth Riversong x3
Isengard Messenger x3
Envoy of Pelargir x3
Warden of Healing x2
Gildor Inglorion x1
Haldir of Lorien x1
Arwen Undomiel x1

Attachments (6):
Asfaloth x3
Keys of Orthanc x3

Events (15):
A Test of Will x3
Elrond’s Counsel x3
The Galadhrim’s Greeting x3
Daeron’s Runes x3
Deep Knowledge x3

Thoughts: This deck on the other hand deals with any potential resource issues mostly with Grima and the Keys of Orthanc. The draw is also pretty strong here so I shouldn’t run out of things to play. Of course using Grima means I have to be a bit careful about my threat, but I have Elrond’s Counsel and Greetings (which I can play more easily despite having only one Spirit hero because I have Grima). The other deck can also lower its threat with Gandalf.
Henamarth is a 3x specifically because of the Patrol Leader. He could also be used to check what the Cave Torch will do but I’m not overly bothered about it. I’d be more likely to use him to check a shadow card.
Beside those points, the main intent of this deck is obviously to just muster a load of willpower. Most of that willpower is cheap, so I can just spam it onto the table, especially with Grima and the Keys getting me extra resources. I’ve also got a little bit of location control in Asfaloth and the Northern Trackers, which may come in handy for some of the more annoying locations and reduce the need for me to rely on the Cave Torch in that capacity.

RingsDB:
http://ringsdb.com/fellowship/view/3048/the-line-unbroken-nm-into-the-pit
http://ringsdb.com/decklist/view/5955/the-line-unbroken-nm-into-the-pit-deck-1-1.0
http://ringsdb.com/decklist/view/5956/the-line-unbroken-nm-into-the-pit-deck-2-1.0

Youtube: https://youtu.be/LFPxWbCV6gA

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

