6 AP Challenge: The Dunland Trap/Across the Ettenmoors

6 AP Challenge: Introduction
6 AP Challenge: Return to Mirkwood & The Long Dark
6 AP Challenge: The Dunland Trap/Across the Ettenmoors Preamble

The playthroughs of The Dunland Trap and Across the Ettenmoors last Sunday went well aside from my computer having issues and the fact it seems like the stream cut out a little way into my final play of Ettenmoors (which I won). I’d been worried my computer was going to crash and said as much, but instead just the stream went off somehow and so most of that game was lost into the ether. Regardless, I was successful and so now I can take you through the decklists.

The Dunland Trap

Heroes:
Celeborn
Erestor
Arwen Undomiel

Allies (28):
West Road Traveller x3
Lorien Guide x3
Galadhrim Weaver x3
Galadhrim Healer x3
Mirkwood Runner x3
Warden of Healing x3
Naith Guide x3
Silverlode Archer x3
Gandalf (Core) x3
Henamarth Riversong x1

Attachments (12):
Steward of Gondor x3
Silver Harp x3
Unexpected Courage x3
Protector of Lorien x3

Events (9):
Sneak Attack x3
Stand and Fight x3
The White Council x3

Side-quests (1):
Send for Aid x1

I mentioned previously that the biggest problem for this deck trying to beat Dunland Trap would be combat, especially with my allies disappearing as I advance to stage 2. So keeping a combat ally is good, as is building up action advantage so I can have combat stats (even if they’re more mediocre ones) as well as questing. Protector of Lorien is a big deal just to ensure I can survive attacks as well, and of course it fits very nicely into an Erestor deck.
The shortage of Silvan allies pushed me towards the more expensive Core Set ones in Silverlode Archer and Lorien Guide. Of course I have some better options for allies to play, but I can’t absolutely rely on my draw co-operating and resources may well accumulate after a while. Mirkwood Runner is a big deal, mostly for being a 2 attack ally in Lore, since Arwen’s ability can provide me with Lore resources but not Leadership ones as Celeborn is Silvan rather than Noldor.
Silver Harp would be a significant card in most Erestor decks, but here it’s not as much of a priority since for one thing it’s my only Item and will therefore be discarded when I advance and for another my priority in the early-game is simply to establish my board-state as fast as possible, so I don’t want to take the tempo hit of paying 2 resources for the Harp too early on. Steward of Gondor is intended to be played onto Arwen, primarily because of Stand and Fight allowing her to play any of my allies from the discard pile.
Sneak Attack is something I generally wouldn’t think of using in an Erestor deck, since the chances of having Sneak Attack and Gandalf in hand at the same time is slim, but Sneak Attack also works with Silvans/Celeborn, I’m ally-heavy so there’s a decent chance of having some ally to use it with, it’s another way to get some more combat power, by just sneaking it in cheaply in an emergency if I’m stuck early on before I get more allies into play to help with the combat, and of course I have limited options.
Send for Aid may well not become relevant, but once I’m on stage 3 there’s no other use for quest progress and I’ll be wanting to re-establish a board-state so it’s a possibility at least. Using it on stage 1 would make less sense since the ally I grab would be discarded when I advance to stage 2.
As we saw, this worked out through me prioritising getting the important attachments and a Mirkwood Runner into play early on and accumulating some spare resources before advancing so I was able to spam new allies quickly afterwards.

Across the Ettenmoors

Heroes:
Glorfindel (Lo)
Hama
Dunhere

Allies (27):
Warden of Healing x3
Wellinghall Preserver x3
Gleowine x3
Henamarth Riversong x3
Erebor Hammersmith x3
West Road Traveller x3
Galadhrim Weaver x3
Gondorian Spearman x3
Gandalf (Core) x3

Attachments (9):
Horn of Gondor x3
Dwarven Axe x3
Unexpected Courage x3

Events (14):
A Test of Will x3
Secret Paths x3
The White Council x3
Feint x3
Close Call x2

Sideboard:
The Galadhrim’s Greeting
Secret Vigil

Meanwhile here I said the biggest issue would be willpower. Combat won’t necessarily be quick since I’m starting from a basis of just Amarthiul defends, Hama and Dunhere attack, but it’ll be easier to amass more attack between getting Unexpected Courage onto Glorfindel, maybe playing some weapons, little bits of attack from allies, and of course the possibility of playing Feint (repeatably with Hama) to free up Amarthiul. Willpower on the other hand starts low and could take more effort to improve. This was particularly a problem in earlier versions of the deck where I was trying to avoid more expensive Lore cards so Glorfindel could use his ability that bit more (helped by the Horn of Gondor and a few chumps along the way), but Wardens of Healing are of course more efficient in that regard, the damage provides less pressure in solo, and Wellinghall Preservers can do a lot to get the willpower going – especially important given stage 2 of the quest where I could be revealing 2 cards per round instead of 1. Secret Paths was also included particularly because I had concerns about my willpower numbers and it’s a cheap way to improve my questing, if only for one round.
The sideboard happened because while testing the deck I found that threat could be an issue sometimes, from a mixture of Doomed (encounter deck and Close Call) and just taking a while to complete the quest. Greeting of course was a difficult prospect, being a 3-cost Spirit card when I have one Spirit hero, no resource acceleration, the need to save for Test of Will and a potential willpower shortage, but it was all I had available. Secret Vigil was for if I decided to slightly relax the restrictions – since this challenge has an element of Minimum Purchase associated with it I considered allowing myself to use cards from the deluxe needed to put together the encounter deck for each quest, but it was only to be used in an emergency, if it seemed like I wasn’t going to beat the quest without it. Happily that didn’t happen.
The White Council is a card I’ve been gaining more and more respect for as I’ve continued with this challenge. With a full card pool it’s less impressive, but still the flexibility is pretty great. Sometimes an extra card is significant, and in solo it’s simply a means of moving a resource from one sphere to another, which can actually be quite significant in a multi-sphere deck. The ability to recover a discarded card or ready a hero obviously have definite utility.
Gleowine was significant for the draw, partly just for general use and partly to allow Hama to potentially do his thing. Usually of course I shy away from using Feint with Hama, but usually I have a card pool containing more than 6 adventure packs and I can choose any heroes I like.
I brought up Horn of Gondor on Glorfindel, and to fuel it I included a few potential chumps – Spearmen, Henamarth as a possible one, though he could also be used for questing or scrying, maybe the Hammersmiths, and while Weavers can’t actually chump-block there’s the possibility of killing them with direct damage and thus gain the resource needed for Glorfindel to keep a different character alive. Healing is fairly important in this quest given the amount of direct damage and effects which punish damaged characters so I want to make sure I stay on top of it.
The VOD shows one slightly dubious victory for this deck and definite indications that it’s possible with what’s becoming my standard approach to this challenge of building up slowly until I have enough board-state to actually do things. In the final attempt I did win, but as noted the stream cut out and so most of that game was lost. If I remember, next time I think I’ll enable the option to save a local recording of the stream while I’m doing it and maybe the local recordings will include the bits which end up cut out of the stream VODs when I have computer issues. Worth a try at least.

Anyway, here’s the video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=275sox-S7hw

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 6 AP Challenge: The Dunland Trap/Across the Ettenmoors

  1. Pingback: 6 AP Challenge: Treachery of Rhudaur/The Dread Realm Preamble | Warden of Arnor

  2. Pingback: 6 AP Challenge: Treachery of Rhudaur/The Dread Realm | Warden of Arnor

Leave a Reply

