Deck: A Very Literal ‘Wood Elf’

This deck was born out of one very simple idea, which I had as soon as Treachery of Rhudaur was released, but only recently got to a point where I was happy with it. Elf-friend is one of those cards that seems to just beg for some sort of janky combo, and the idea I rapidly landed on was hero Treebeard + Fair and Perilous, since his ability boosts his willpower and attack, so with FaP each damage effectively gets you 2 more attack.

There are other benefits to Treebeard being an elf of course – Silvan Trackers heal him every refresh phase, though I unfortunately had to relegate it to the sideboard in the end, he can ride Asfaloth (I wanted to do it just for the ridiculous mental image), he could wear a Cloak of Lorien though I had to cut that as well, and if anyone’s throwing Rivendell Bows around he could get one of those as well. Well, all those and a couple more benefits which actually didn’t occur to me until I was tweaking the deck into more recent versions and its current version where I’m finally happy enough to post it. Of course those particular includes required me to alter my hero lineup as well, but for more resources, readying and stat-boosts (again double attack with Fair and Perilous) they’re definitely worth it. Plus I needed more cards.
You see the problem with the original was I couldn’t afford everything in a timely fashion (my original lineup was Treebeard/Mirlonde/Galadriel). I could potentially have solved that problem by adding in Grima, and I still think that would make a good version of the deck, but I was resistant because I didn’t want to go to close to the Tales from the Cards deck March of the Wormbeard, which had just gone up when I was tweaking this deck initially. So looking for another source of resources, I landed on hero Arwen when she was released, and threw in Bifur to smooth out between Spirit and Lore. I ran into some problems where there weren’t actually that many cards I was happy to discard. After a while I switched to a mono-Lore setup using Song of Travel on Bifur for the Spirit cards, but then I found I was short on resources again so back to Arwen. Finally while messing about with a different deck idea (also using Elf-friend, because it seems I’m just not so enthused about real Elves as I am about fake ones) I realised the one other big benefit you can get from gaining the Noldor trait: Tale of Tinuviel. Swap in Beravor instead of Bifur, suddenly I can get more cards to fuel Arwen, flexible stats, and the option to boost Treebeard even more (plus an extra action out of the deal). In this form the deck beat Ruins of Belegost, which is no slouch of a quest, so here we go:

A Very Literal ‘Wood Elf’

Heroes:
Arwen Undomiel
Treebeard
Beravor

Allies (13):
Wellinghall Preserver x3
Silvan Tracker x3
Master of the Forge x3
Galadhrim Minstrel x3
Quickbeam x1

Attachments (16):
Elf-friend x3
Silver Harp x3
Unexpected Courage x3
Lembas x3
Ent Draught x2
A Burning Brand x1
Protector of Lorien x1

Events (21):
Fair and Perilous x3
Tale of Tinuviel x3
Deep Knowledge x3
Daeron’s Runes x3
Dwarven Tomb x3
Elrond’s Counsel x3
A Test of Will x3

Sideboard (5):
Warden of Healing x3
Asfaloth x1
Light of Valinor x1

Decklist on RingsDB

A notable absence from the deck is Arwen’s usual partner in crime, Elven-light. That’s because I don’t expect to have enough Spirit resources to recur it that much, since I need them to play the important events and to get Unexpected Courages onto Treebeard. As such, Silver Harps instead so I can hold onto my cards (they can also work with Daeron’s Runes and Protector of Lorien of course). As far as card draw goes, between Beravor, Daeron’s Runes, Deep Knowledge and the fetch effects from the Master of the Forge and Galadhrim Minstrel, I should be overflowing.
There’s kind of an inherent time limit on this deck as far as its ability to take on huge enemies, since you have a limited supply of the big hit events to really hulk up Treebeard (incidentally, this deck very much fits into the ‘superhero’ archetype I talked about in the last Archetype Analysis), even using Dwarven Tomb to recycle them.
In the early game, you want to get your key attachments (via Master of the Forge if necessary), and at least one of the healing allies. Once Treebeard has multiple actions and naturally replenishing hit points you can really start to power up. Lembas may help cover that early-game period as well by resetting the hit point counter if you’ve been burning it too fast. Ideally, Beravor should always be held back until you know you don’t need her for combat (either directly or using Tale of Tinuviel on Treebeard), then used to draw more cards so you find your important stuff faster and have more cards to fund Arwen’s resource generation. With all this set up, you have a lot of ways to potentially boost Treebeard’s attack (remember that with Fair and Perilous in the mix, any willpower boosts are also attack boosts – Elrond’s Counsel and Protector of Lorien, for instance).
If your other heroes take damage, you can put the spare copies of Elf-friend onto them, or you can discard those Elf-friends to Arwen, Daeron’s Runes or Protector. You can manage pretty OK regardless. The Wardens of Healing in the sideboard are more a multiplayer consideration.
As far as other possibilities, I’ve mentioned Grima (+Keys of Orthanc), and I’ve mentioned Elven-light. Nothing else really springs to mind other than perhaps any other form of resource generation you can get a hold of. Side-quests of course can always be a good addition but I don’t feel like they’re particularly necessary.

As I said above, this version of the deck beat Ruins of Belegost last night, so here’s a screenshot (which you’ll already have seen if you’re following the Warden of Arnor facebook page):
TBEFBelegost

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Deck: A Very Literal ‘Wood Elf’

  1. Pingback: Miscellaneous bits from 2016 | Warden of Arnor

Leave a Reply

